Choices.

In the spirit of trying new things this year, I decided to join my friend at a new “Gyrokinesis” class. I arrived in class, after work, with yoga mat and water bottle in hand, not exactly sure what to expect. We spent a few minutes lying down in the quiet classroom, while waiting for everyone to arrive.

Then the instructor guided us through a series of gentle stretches and movements, transitioning from lying down, to sitting up, to sitting on a stool.

After the first session, I couldn’t believe it! An entire hour of just breathing, stretching… and exercises that could be done sitting down!

The best part is, the process was so relaxing that I slept soundly that night…and I couldn’t wait for the next class.

This week, the instructor said:

It’s your choice.

You decide… which side do you feel like needs more stretching. How high do you want to extend your arms? How far do you want to go?

It’s up to you.

Do what feels good.

Leave a comment